Jimi Hendrix - Both Sides of the Sky

Mar 19 2018


Released by Experience Hendrix and Legacy Recordings on March 9, Jimi Hendrix’s Both Sides of the Sky debuted at #8 on the Billboard 200, as well as #3 on both the Top Current Albums and the Top Rock Albums chart. It is also a Top 10 album in the UK, the Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland, Belgium and Austria.

Both Sides of the Sky is the acclaimed third volume in a trilogy of albums intended to present the best and most significant unissued studio recordings remaining in the music legend’s archive. It joins its predecessors in the upper echelons of the Billboard albums charts – Valleys of Neptune (2010) peaked at #4, and People, Hell and Angels (2013) hit #2.

Recorded between January 1968 and February 1970, and featuring guest appearances by Stephen Stills, Johnny Winter and Lonnie Youngblood, Both Sides of the Sky contains 10 unreleased tracks. The project was co-produced by Eddie Kramer, Jimi Hendrix’s recording engineer on all his albums made during his life, along with Janie Hendrix and John McDermott.

“No rock figure before or since could breathe fire like Hendrix does, on his beloved well-known albums and on the assortment that is Both Sides of The Sky.” –NPR Music

“. . . offers plenty of thrills, as, time and again, Hendrix pushes solos along the knife-edge that separates this world from another.” –Rolling Stone

“Get ready to hear another side of Jimi Hendrix.” –USA Today

“The urgency and dynamism of the greatest electric guitarist of all time crackles through each note.” –The Times (London)

“Hendrix here straddles R&B, rock, and blues on tracks that bear witness to his rhythmic mastery as the foundation to a diverse blues vocabulary that was assimilated from coast to coast – then reimagined.” –Vintage Guitar

Order Both Sides of the Sky: https://jimihendrix.lnk.to/bothsides

Both Sides of the Sky tracklist:
1) Mannish Boy*
2) Lover Man*
3) Hear My Train A Comin’*
4) Stepping Stone*
5) $20 Fine*+
6) Power Of Soul^
7) Jungle*
8) Things I Used to Do#
9) Georgia Blues++
10) Sweet Angel*
11) Woodstock*+
12) Send My Love To Linda*
13) Cherokee Mist*

*Previously unreleased
^ Previously unavailable extended version
+Featuring Stephen Stills
#Featuring Johnny Winter
++Featuring Lonnie Youngblood

Produced by Janie Hendrix, Eddie Kramer and John McDermott for Experience Hendrix, L.L.C.

Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, is home to the world’s foremost library of historically significant commercial recordings, a peerless collection of works by the most significant musical artists of the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries. Across a variety of platforms, the label has revolutionized the catalog market, offering contemporary music fans access to thousands of meticulously restored and remastered archival titles representing virtually every musical genre including popular, rock, jazz, blues, R&B, folk, country, gospel, Broadway musicals, movie soundtracks, rap/hip-hop, world music, classical, comedy and more.

Founded by James ‘Al’ Hendrix, Jimi’s father, in 1995, Experience Hendrix has been run, since its inception, by the family members handpicked by Al during his tenure as Chairman. It is the official family company charged with managing the music, name, image and likeness of Jimi Hendrix. As a part of their daily operations, Experience Hendrix and Authentic Hendrix oversee Jimi’s timeless legacy on a worldwide basis.