Live At George’s Club 20 1965 & 1966: Curtis Knight (featuring Jimi Hendrix)

February 27, 2017

A significant addition to the Dagger Records catalog and never officially released in the U.S. before, these recordings showcase Jimi Hendrix’s explosive guitar work and lead vocal performances that Animals bassist Chas Chandler witnessed less than a year before becoming his manager and moving him to England to form the Jimi Hendrix Experience.

New York area bandleader Curtis Knight met Jimi Hendrix, then known as Jimmy James, in October 1965 and recruited the budding guitarist for his pre-Squires band the Lovelights. These raw recordings, made at George’s Club 20 in Hackensack, NJ on December 26, 1965 and January 22, 1966, capture the Lovelights (filled out with bassist Ace Hall, drummer Ditto Edwards and saxophonist Lonnie Youngblood) tearing through popular rock and roll, soul and blues songs of the day.

Longtime Hendrix recording engineer Eddie Kramer just recently restored the audio by removing all overdubs and effects, so fans can now hear what Chandler did in that nightclub over a half century ago. Bernie Grundman mastered Live At George’s Club 20 1965 & 1966 for optimum audio fidelity.

Track Listing

Disc 1
  1. 1. Introduction
  2. 2. Killing Floor
  3. 3. Last Night
  4. 4. Get Out Of My Life Woman
  5. 5. Ain’t That Peculiar
  6. 6. Mercy, Mercy
  7. 7. I’m A Man
  8. 8. Driving South
  9. 9. Baby What You Want Me To Do
  10. 10. I’ll Be Doggone
  11. 11. Sweet Little Angel
  12. 12. Let’s Go, Let’s Go, Let’s Go
  13. 13. Travelin’ To California
  14. 14. What I Say
  15. 15. Land Of 1000 Dances
  16. 16. Come On (Let The Good Times Roll)
  17. 17. Band Outtro