The Cry Of Love is being reissued on CD, vinyl and digital, reintroduced with original album art and track orders and remastered by Bernie Grundman from the original analog masters.

Originally released in 1971, and last issued on CD in 1992, The Cry Of Love was compiled and mixed by Hendrix’s longtime engineer Eddie Kramer and Experience drummer Mitch Mitchell. The bulk of these tracks were recorded between December 1969 and the summer of 1970 at Electric Lady Studios in New York, and were intended to be part of an ambitious double LP tentatively titled First Rays of the New Rising Sun. Commercially, The Cry Of Love was a huge success, reaching #3 in the U.S. and #2 in the UK, and spawned favorites such as “Angel,” “Freedom,” and “Ezy Ryder.” While Mitch Mitchell and bassist Billy Cox comprised the rhythm section on the lion’s share of the tracks, Buddy Miles played drums on “Ezy Ryder” and Noel Redding played bass on “My Friend” (recorded in 1968, before his departure from the Jimi Hendrix Experience). The Cry Of Love also includes the participation of notable guest musicians including Steve Winwood, Chris Wood and Buzzy Linhart among others.

Track Listing

Disc 1
  1. 1. Freedom
  2. 2. Izabella
  3. 3. Night Bird Flying
  4. 4. Angel
  5. 5. Room Full Of Mirrors
  6. 6. Dolly Dagger
  7. 7. Ezy Ryder
  8. 8. Drifting
  9. 9. Beginnings
  10. 10. Stepping Stone
  11. 11. My Friend
  12. 12. Straight Ahead
  13. 13. Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)
  14. 14. Earth Blues
  15. 15. Astro Man
  16. 16. In From The Storm
  17. 17. Belly Button Window